what does "not false", "not true" mean.

newbee

N
bear with me, i am new at this. looking at the ladder logic for the system we are looking at, it shows every thing true, except for 1 item that says "not false". does anyone know what this means?

Welcome newbee,
When you say "1 item that says 'not false'", does it say that in a label or description for a contact? If so, and the instruction is not true, then the address needs to change to the opposite state in order to make the rung true.

Sometimes programmers use a description that has a negative word in it that later leads to confusion especially when applied to normally closed contacts. You then have a double negative and have to stop and think about what it actually means.

What kind of PLC are you working on, and can you give more details about the nature of the problem?

With respect to logic, what is the opposite of "TRUE"?

Some would have you think that the opposite of "TRUE" is "FALSE"... not so.

The opposite of "TRUE" is "NOT TRUE". We humans interpret the value of "NOT TRUE" to mean "FALSE". It's a language thing.

The opposite of "FALSE" is not "TRUE"... the opposite of "FALSE" is "NOT FALSE".

To illustrate...

If a normally open contact in a limit switch is used to indicate that a door is "CLOSED"...
What does it mean if the signal is OFF (the contact is open)?

Does it mean the human version of the opposite?
To humans, the opposite of "CLOSED" is "OPENED". Is the door "OPENED"? Maybe... maybe not.

Or does it means the logical version of the opposite?
In logic, the opposite of "CLOSED" is "NOT CLOSED". Is the door "NOT CLOSED"? Definitely so!

Newbee...
Your question was not only taken out of context, it is completely without context. If you haven't already figured it out then please provide a little more context so that we might better understand what it is that you see.

(91)

Here we go again.

What is it this time?
Prime factors of 91=7x13.

91 is a Triangular Number.

91 is a Hexagonal Number.