RsView Studio

Dave McGlynn

Is there such a thing in RsView Studio as what used to be known as "global objects" in Panelbuilder32? I looked in the help file, looked on AB's forums, couldn't find any mention of such a thing.

This is the feature where you could right click on an object, and "mark for global selection" then you could place the item on any other screen, and when you modify it on one screen, it would make the SAME changes on the others. One Edit, Multiple screens.

I'm new to Studio, but slowly getting better.. anyone shed some light on this for me? Thanks!!

-Dave

No, not really. One thing you need to keep in mind with Studio, is that every single display screen is completely independent. There isn't even any actual global code. Copy and Paste work though, but changes don't propagate.

You can make a sort of global display, to act as a repository for functions (through VBA code) if that would work for you. I always do that, and make the global display a menu-bar type thing on the top of the screen.

You mean objects like Citect's genies and super genies? Now that would be a really cool feature for RSView to have. Alas, no such feature exists in RSView32, or RSViewSE. And while I think RSViewSE has a lot of good features, it is distressingly full of holes, VBA is not even global in SE, thought it is in RSV32. Talk about going backwards. And don't even get me started on how bad RSView's recipe object sucks or its datalogging. Despite all that, I like the product, though I couldn't tell you why. Maybe its because it has always connected to the PLC first time, I've never had the comm hassles with it that I've had with other HMIs.