PLC questions

nautica03

Electronic programming gurus...

Given two single - pole switches, write a program that will turn on an output when both switch A and switch B are closed?

Given two single - pole switches, wirte a program that will turn on output when either switch A or switch B is closed?
emthup.gif

Given four NO (Normally Open) pushbuttons (A-B-C-D), write a program that will turn a lamp on if pushbuttons A and B or C and D are closed.

I seem to be stuck. Help would be greatful.

I'm new to this. Basically i was given a book called PLC and from reading chapter one it doesn't say anything about switches. all it provided was info on what are PLC .. so when doing the question 1. It doesn't make no sense. i'm new, it's like learning a new language with no where to start at. :|

wow thanks you guys. I got it. It consist of and or gates. ^___^

student at itt-technicial institute of technology majoring in CEET .. computer electronic engineering technology. ^____^

Given two single - pole switches, write a program that will turn on an output when both switch A and switch B are closed?

A B output
|----| |-----| |------( )--

This is an AND..A and B...if A and B are TRUE then turn on ouptut.

Given two single - pole switches, wirte a program that will turn on output when either switch A or switch B is closed?
emthup.gif

A ouptut
|----| |-----+------( )--|
| B |
|----| |-----|

This is an OR...if A or B is TRUE then turn on output.
For the above outputs to stay on the inputs must stay on.

Given four NO (Normally Open) pushbuttons (A-B-C-D), write a program that will turn a lamp on if pushbuttons A and B or C and D are closed.
This is not defined properly, are the pushbuttons maintained or momentary?

Last edited:
Who cares what the external inputs are (maintained or momentary). The logic is the same for the question as written. Now if it had been written as "A THEN B or C THEN D" then it might be time to question.

bernie_carlton said: