LogixPro Bottle line simulator

vlmuke

Hi,
I am new to PLC programming. Myself and several co-workers are taking a PLC class and we are using the logixPro to learn on, Our problem is we, including our instructor, can't seen to get the bottles to cap or fill with out destroying the bottles, it seems that if we use the bit shift the bottles our either out of sync with the convoyor or stay down till a broken or tall bottle passes
we've tried to put a timer on the convoyor but didn't have any luck we also tried to use the bit shift but the and the limit switch but that either stays up or down all the time. the rest of the items working, I was wondering if some one who has programmed this before might be able to offer some suggestions what we could try??
Thanks
RichB

RichB,

Yep, I have done the Bottle Line Exercises, all 6 of them. There are a few tricks that I learned the hard way. Definitley use the Bir Shift Registers. Only run the conveyor motor until a bottle is under the fill nozzle, then stop it until the bottle is filled. The "speed" of the conveyor is also important. In this exercise it is controlled by the so-called "scan time", which is not user settable on actual PLCs, but you can set it in LogixPro. On my computer, the bottle line will only run at about 75% of full speed without breaking a bottle, even when correctly programmed. This is to illustrate the physical limits in most material handling systems. I can post the program later, after you struggle awhile.

RichB,

Here are some more tips for the Bottle Line Simulator: