Master PLC Spoofing

Chuck Hoyt

Hello all, I am NOT a PLC programmer (I am a wireless communications company) however, we work with plenty of them and I have a question regarding security. We have a water agency that is experiencing an attack on their system. They use Allen Bradley PLCs and use a licensed frequency MAS radio system. Someone is spoofing the master PLC and messing with the system. Does anyone know if there is any way to encrypt the serial data at each PLC? The serial radios are not able to perform any encryption. This is not a serial to Ethernet system, strictly serial RS232. Thanks for any suggestions!
Chuck

Do you have data traces that indicate spoofing? Or are you just guessing? I'm actually incredulous unless it's an inside job. These transmissions are not ASCII-based and it would take a real good programmer to figure out the protocol and then emulate it.

What is the nature of the attack?

Are they reprogramming the master PLC, or the slave PLCs?
Are they just manipulating data?
Are they pretending to be one of the slaves?
Are you SURE its an attacker? There might be a bad node address in the system.

Can you give us some details? If we know what the attacker is doing, we might be able to find a way to cut him off.

AK