temperature controlled stove

antiwong

I are working on a project using a plc to control a electric heater for boiling purposes (boiling a pot of water). i am new to plcs and have a question to ask.
all off the shelf temperature controller has PID incorporated. Since we are using a PLC, can i use the temperature transmitter (which gives us the temperature of the liquid in a pot) and software PID (programmed in the PLC) to control the electric heater (analog output).

Thanks,
Anthony wong

Since we are using a PLC

Maybe automate the rest off the house in the future <<JOKE>>

No jstolaruk is right if this is the only function rather use the PID functionality on the controller. :geek:

You can use a PLC, the minmum you need is a temperature input (either thermocouple or RTD) and a digital output. (For heating you don't need an analog output as you can use a pulse output to turn an electric heater on and off via a solid state relay).

Just think about it a minute , what temperature is the water in the pot , and can it get higher ?
If you don't need it , you can do away with the analogue altogether and just use a simple rising/falling temperature switch .

Since you can only do on off control ( realistically with your heating medium , you don't really need a PLC with a PID controller , you can make your own , particularly as know pretty much the heat requirement for the system will always be .

I think that Unregistered was trying to point out that once the liquid in the pot is boiling all of the available energy is used as latent heat so the process is massively non linear and PID control would not be effective.

You got it - you can pour as much energy as you like in there , once it has boiled , it doesn't matter . Now to keep it simmering , that requires an adaptive PID loop , something that is capable of learning .