Career advise

russrmartin

Hi all. I have a small dilemna, but a good one to have. First my background. I went to tech school for Electro-Mech Technology. First I was a union electrician in a battery making plant. Then moved to a Plant Engineering Systems Tech(glorified electrical maintenance title) at a big plant where I've gotten very familiar with all PLCs and HMI's from AB, learned a little IFIX and seen some siemens and TI PLC's and software. My job has been keeping lines running and doing various minor program and process changes. I have been out of trade school for 7 years. Last year I started pursueing a BSEE degree. I had an interview for a company looking for a Instrumentation and controls engineer, typical projects last 12 to 14 weeks in the shop and about 2 weeks startup at the buyers location. I am assuming that some of you are engineers and have traveled a somewhat similar path. Because of my lack of formal Engineering schooling and lack of major project management, this potential employer is only offering 37K salaried to start. In my current job, I will make just a hair over 45K. This potential employer said in the interview that there will be a 6 month assessment to kind of "see where I'm at and a raise, perhaps sizeable if my talents and knowledge were underestimated."

Knowing all this, I would like some input from those of you who may have traveled this kind of path.

#1, Exactly how much diffent is this type of job. To be exact, is it realistic to expect to recoup a majority of an 8K paycut after a 6 month period?

#2. This employer stressed that while they would encourage me to finish my degree, they will neither require it, nor reimburse for it. Basically, I will learn what I need to know from them on the job. Is the pay any or much better after obtaining the BSEE and do those of you with significant engineering experience find yourselves losing jobs to those with some less experience because of the formal degree?