Making the jump

CroCop

All,

I've been floating around end users for roughly 5 years, and have automated and maintained quite a few very different processes. I've done everything on multiple projects, i.e., concept to buy off, and I've been fairly happy. I've done small to medium systems, nothing over 200 IO points.

Now I find myself wanting to jump to the next level, and perhaps look at working for an OEM, or the such. I've got a AS in Electrical Automation, and half of an EE degree.

So how does one go about changing gears and making that jump?

I appreciate and welcome any and all comments, advice, and general banter about it.

Thanks in advance,

Marc

Why not try searching careerpath.com, monster.com, oryahoo.com jobs.

Then there are the contract houses and engineering firms, who may have some leads.

Most outfits running 300+ I/O seem to want experience with 300-500 I/O and up.

I am not sure what is in Utah for industry.

I get a lot of calls for jobs in WI, MI, and GA.

regards.....casey

Marc,

Based on some of your responses I've quickly glanced at, you have obvious knowledge and experience in this industry.

What I would recommend is that you somehow complete the EE degree. For me, my degree got me "thru the door". I know it sounds easier said than done (mortgage, kids etc can complicate this). But if you've already completed half the courses, than half the work is done!! An electrical engineering degree is nothing to sneeze at, and may give you the leg up on the next guy who has equivalent experience.

Not to mention, if you get it completed, it will show your diligence at completing something you started, always a good
indicator of character and work ethic.

Just my 2 cents worth...

-Mike

Marc,

If you truly want to take a chance...maybe consider becoming your own OEM. Do you have an idea that is in your head or on paper that you havn't pursued? Develop that idea and market it.