S7-400 Items selection Help

shady_yehia

Hey guys. This is my first time to deal with Siemens S7 PLC and I'm supposed to select the items required for a quite large project. I'm not familiar at all with Siemens S7-400H system so I need your help to tell me if I missed something..

You will find in the attached file a list of the items that I thought it is enough to put the system on its feet, and I'd like to note that the system is required to have two redundant CPUs and four serial ports for connecting MMIs to it.

Please advice if you find anything missing..

Thanks in advance

I've had a look at the list but can't really help you without knowing a LOT more about the project.

However, what I always do is talk to my supplier in situations like this. Explain the job that you need to do and let them spec you the best gear. They are always more than happy to help (its sales to them after all)

Good luck

JT :)

Hi

first u need the rack to be u2rh this is the only one acceptable for the redundancy

u need a power suppply on each rack

synch modules should be 4

syn cables should be 2

for the i/o :

u will construct rack of ET200M each rack shall consist of redundant im153-2 bundle and 8 i/o modules ,note that these are s7 300 compnents
u need active bus modules to connect the modules
u need profibus bus connectors to connect the im to the central controllers

as for the communication i will need to understand what u are willing to do

best regards
amr

Last edited:
i hope things was that easy.. the supplier is off friday and saturday and sunday this week.. i must get these things done before saturday morning in egypt..

there is actually nothing much to say about the project.. i'll give u the I/O count:
DI: 160
DO: 96
AI: 64
RTD: 48

and i added about 20% spare points

i'm planing to use a 18 slot central rack where i wish to put the two redundant CPUs and two 18 slot expansion racks "check for me plz if these racks i selected is right"..