has anyone ever gone through this

Eric12

I am considering applying for a job in manufacturing maintance. Job responsibilites our Troubleshoot and repair electrical problems with plant/manufacturing equipment including PLCs, AC/DC motors and drives. My background is in calibration, and I have an associates in electronic systems.
Some of my skills include
ƒÞ Repaired, calibrated, and modified test, measurement and diagnostic equipment.
ƒÞ Performed voltage, current, power, impedance, frequency, microwave, temperature, and physical-dimensional measurements.
ƒÞ Inspected, aligned, troubleshot, and repaired malfunctions in laboratory standards; to include manual and automated weapon system test devices.
The only plc knowledge I have are from this tutorial.
My question is do you think with me never being in a manufacturing environment it would be hard for me to pick up this job. I just dont want to apply for a job and tell and employer I can do it and then run into complications with work performance.

Wouldn't you have to have your Journeyman Electrician's Ticket for some aspects of your proposed new position? It sounds like you would certainly be competent enough for the job, and could probably pick things up, as long as you have enough of a grip on control circuitry to troubleshoot problems "under the gun". Where I work you would have to be a certified electrician though. As long as you are honest with your employer, you should have no trouble. At my sawmill here in Canada, things are so shaky with the 29 percent duty you poor Americans have to pay for your Canadian lumber that I managed to get a job here with no previous PLC programming experience. Everyone else is too scared to work here, as the less efficient sawmills are starting to shut down. Needless to say that beggers can't be choosers, and they are now training me (mostly trial by fire) in the ways of the sawmill (I came from the Oilfield).