internal architecture of a typical plc

top cat

T
hello was just wondering if anyone could help me by describing the internal archtecture of a typical plc....? as you can probably guess i'm not an expert.
thanx....

top cat said:
hello was just wondering if anyone could help me by describing the internal archtecture of a typical plc....? as you can probably guess i'm not an expert.
thanx....
"HNC course exactly right" found some help on site tho thanx very much..

internal architecture of a PLC

Please can you explain the internal architecture of a plc.

Allen,

In our circles it's called the resident smoke.

top cat, Whatever you do, do not release the resident smoke. Once you let any amount of resident smoke from your device, (no matter how little) the device will stop working and you will have to send it in to get a smoke re-charge. Some times a recharge can cost as much as a whole new device.

Last edited:
Modern micro controllers are almost PLCs on a chip, lacking only the ladder logic to make them work.
When I was drunk, suffering from feaver, or not able to sleep, I would sometimes toy with the idea of writing software to provide ladder logic for a PIC or HC11.
Sooner or later someone would do it.

Doug

My experience has been that it sometimes costs two to three times the price of a new unit to recharge one.

Never under any circumstances release resident smoke when higher levels of management are present. After the resident steam release is cleared up, reports and meetings usually follow.

Resident Smoke leakage is acceptable in an older vacuum tube (hollow state) plc, as it can self absorb when the fleming valves are cracked opened just a little. WARNING, Control Voltage can be dangerously high.