PLC guidance needed

noob saibot

I am going to try to provide as much information as I can.

Ok, I am new to PLC programming, I don't normally do this by trade. I have built a few small control panels and know ladder logic pretty well. I have done several tutorials and read the siemens s7-200 manual cover to cover.

What I need to do is convert a NI Fieldpoint control system to PLC. I wired the entire system but it was one of those projects where someone else sorta roughly sketched it and I had to fill in the blanks. He programmed it (labview), but since he has left the company I am stuck with it. I understand exactly how it works right now because I had to do all the documentation for the control logic. My boss would like me to be able to service the system as it is portable and if repairs/adjustments/troubleshooting must be done, I would have to do them on site. The labview program is quite difficult to troubleshoot and is more complicated than we need not to mention flaky (as with a lot of the software this person wrote for us), it has been decided that we should use a PLC. The total # of I/O is roughly 4DI 9DO 8AI.

Here is what I need to do (a rough description):

The system is a cascade fueling system which has 3 banks of cylinders which are sequenced to fill a single tank within 30sec. There is a data cable connected to the tank to be filled which will transmit temperature and a ground confirmation to make sure it is connected. The tank pressure is taken at the outlet of the dispenser. The source banks also have pressure sensors at their manifolds. We will be monitoring 2 thermocouples in the process piping on the dispenser as well as the pressures. These need to have limits set that will shutdown the system in case they are too high.

It should work like this: