PLC Jobs

petro62

I was just curious on some your backgrounds with PLC's. Mainly I want to know college majors if you have one. Since switching majors and getting into electronics and now taking my PLC class I am loving PLC's, automation, and robotics. My major is Eletronics and Computer Technology and after I finish this I plan to go back to get a A.A.S. in automated manufacturing, where I would learn about robotics, fluid and pneumatic power, and a few other things. I was just curious what your backgrounds where, and maybe if you didn't mind a general idea on how much you make doing PLC work. Oh yeah I also plan to get Certified for my networking which I figure should bump pay up a little more. THanks

Since no one else has answered you I will interject my 2 cents. :oops: I have two degrees one in Industrial Electronics and one in Computer Integrated Manufacturing. While working in the field of Industrial Automation I have found that I draw on both of these daily. :unsure: I also have to deal with the mechanical aspects of the projects so my back ground as a Maintenance Tech has proven valuable there. I also have to be knowable to an extent with IT and Networking. So it helps to have a wide and varying knowledge of several fields. As for the pay it can range from nothing to great. It depends on where you live, who you work for, and the value the company puts on your services. The most important thing is that you like what you are doing, where you work, and the people you work with. :D If you find a place that can provide you with those then you are truly lucky. beerchug

I have been in the electrical/electronic industry for 18yrs. I was going for a B.S. degree in alternative energies when the bottom dropped out in '82(who needs solar,wind,biomass,geothermal,ect.?) when the utility companies are doing such a good job, anyway.
So, I went to tech school for an EET degree. After graduation everyone wanted you PCs were in and controls were getting easier.