overall PLC program management...

Control Freak

I've been programming plcs for several years now and I'm at that point that I want to streamline. All of our machines are custom, but all are similar, in most regards. Some machines just have more processes on them then others (I.E. Dereelers, inspection stations, servo feed vs mechanical feed, etc). I've been getting by fairly well, but I'm looking for ways to keep things as simple as possible, and easily repeatable.

Given a varied customer base, I use three different PLC types, AB SCL500's & Micros, Omron, and the occasional 90/30.

I am not the end user of any of the machines, so I do my best to document the program well, and keep my programming style as simple as possible. Whichever manufacturer, I break everything down into smaller blocks/subroutines/whatever each manufacturer calls them, just to simplify things, and to make the programs easier to manage. That seemed like a no brainer. After all, if your going into someone else's program to make a timer value change on the inspection station, it's nice to go right to the "Inspection" section of code rather than bounce around searching.

Our machine's use several types of motion: servo, cam-driven mechanical stations, pneumatic, all depending on the processes required, and on the budget.

What I'm looking for is suggestions/tips on simplifying the programming process as a whole...
What's the best way to manage such a wide variety of machines, some with 2 stations, some with 20 stations?
Is it best to incorporate a "Main Cycle" subroutine to manage all of the stations, to verify completion of all of the other sub-stations?