Class I div I or div II, need some help

stooperbike

Looking for some information concerning Class I div I or div II panels. We are building a control panel that is mostly going to be a junction box for instrumentation and several motors. No starters or relays will exist in this panel, but there are several I to P converters. The customer has no classification for the room where this is going, there is the possibility in the event of leakage a small amount of hydrogen may escape into the atmosphere.( I cannont define "small amount") The control panel will be mounted on to a system skid. My question is, does this become a class I div II area where there is not normally going to be hydrogen in the area under normal operation? Or is it a class I div I area since in the event of a rupture there is the potential for hydrogen in the area? I am somewhat new to this and the NEC is a bit confusing when it comes to the div I or div II. We are planning on using a purge on the panel and I just want to make sure we use the right one. Also we are taking in RTD’s signals, some 4-20 signals, do IS barriers need to be supplied if the cables are going into a purged panel? Hope my questions make sense and thanks for the help.

Being a control panel guy, I suggest that you check out Hoffman's (the enclosure people) website at:

http://www.hoffmanonline.com/Technical_Info/

Especially look under the tab of "Hazardous Locations". You can do a variety of things to meet the safety requirements, but you really need to know exactly what you are facing in the way of the presence of explosive gases. You can't take safety lightly!

Hoffman, for one, has a few "purge" packages they offer. I'm sure other vendors do also. Check out their technical resources so you get the one that's right for your application

DISCLAIMER: I only mention Hoffman because I use them a lot. I don't work for them.

Division 2