make me understand

mug

hi! guys, im new in plc programming, i am currently reading some PLC program and i dont understand why certain bit, i think its an integer bit (ex. N10:11/10)how it turns on? when i cross reference i found no OTE to make it on? can somebody help me to understand this? or maybe you can give me something to read to enhance my knowledge on this? thanks

A few ideas off the top of my head...

• Bit could be turned on/off remotely by something like an HMI (this seems the most likely in your case)
  • Bit could be indirectly referenced with a pointer Example: N10:11/[N10:3] when N10:3 contains the value 10
  • Bit might turn on when certain values are moved to N10:11. Look for N10:11 in the cross reference list
I'm sure there are a few other ways that others will add.

🍻

-Eric

your correct on the third one, i found it in a MOV function, if i am not mistaken N10:11 is composed of 16 bits? how does it works?

The 'N' registers are most often used to hold a number, interpreting the entire 16 bits as one unit (N10:11). But it can be interpreted as individual bits as you have seen (N10:11/10). In an opposite manner the 'B' registers are most often interpreted by a single bit (B3:5/2) but can be interpreted, using all 16 bits, as a number (B3:5). The SLC500 - Micrologix series are very flexable in this respect. The reasons for using a location in both ways, the MOV transferring all 16 bits as a unit, then the usage of N10:11/10, are totally dependent on the program and the programmer. We hope that the programmer commented the program sufficiently to provide the reason for this usage.

Just curious if the program you are looking at has all the comments/descriptions located above each item in the ladder/rungs or it looks like a bunch lines and characters and no text? (As in an application that has just been uploaded from the PLC? --[ ]------(L)--.)