NetDDE data from InTouch

matsons

Complete newbie with polling data from InTouch. I am on site developing a supervisory control system and have limited access to the PC running InTouch because the process runs 24/7. This makes for quite a challenge. Here is the information I have:

- 2 PC's running in parallel for identical operations, no cross-communication that I'm aware of.
- Windows 2000
- InTouch 7 (I think ~2002)
- Application name is BBB_INI
- Wonderware Scandinavia QE71 I/O Server reading from Siemens PLC
- WW netdde extensions configured for Winsock first, then NetBios
- NetDDE Shares includes *|*, and I have added some without success
- NetDDE DSDM and NetDDE restarted
- Window maker is installed on another PC that I have slightly more access to
- Auto-login to user viss, not Administrator
- Wonderware screens have all task switching, C-A-D disabled so I have to close down InTouch to get access to the PC

I have tried reading from the I/O Server and from InTouch without success. Using NetDDE syntax: \\server\ndde$|share_name!tag_name and also what I perceive to be suitelink syntax: \\server\BBB_INI|tagname!tag_name

Will someone provide an example Excel formula that I can use to troubleshoot? My formulas always return "N/A" after thinking for several seconds.

Thank you in advance for any tips.

Thanks, no ndde$ required

Thanks Tark,

I'll try this. Based on your response I presume that ndde$ is not required after the node name.

matsons,

We've found that simply having the *|* share configured on the Intouch node is not enough. You need it on your remote machine as well. Also we've found that if you log off and log back on, even though the *|* is still there, dde doesn't work. The only fix we've been able to come up with is to go back and open that share and either a) click ok as if you just made the share, or b) delete the share and reconfigure it. The log off/log on somehow disrupts that share. Also don't forget to trust that share on both machines.