pic

john156cm

Hi, all I purchased a used pic, and a used slc 500 for practice at home. The problem is when I try to communicate using rslinx gateway with baud rate set at 9600 it shows the pic not running and scan showed no connection. I am new to this so there will be alot of questions.
thanks, john

i have a few questions for you? i'm assuming you are using rslogix500 as your programming software correct me if i'm wrong. How are you connecting??

You got this PIC used. The obvious FIRST question is:

Are you sure it's good?

(I had my PIC forever and once had to repair the ribbon cable due to a break from flexing it over years of constant use.)

Also, if you got it from eBay or some other auction site, be sure to review the listing. A lot of the technical stuff sold there is "as is"...

Well, RSLogix isn't the issue yet. If RSLinx isn't working, nothing else will.

Have you tried 19.2Kb? That is supposed to be the default for the SLC processors.

Are you using Windows XP or Windows 2000? If so then be aware there are compatibility issues. You will need to select the "Reserve COM port..." option. This will conflict with anything else on your PC trying to use the serial port. Deleting the driver will likely be the only way to free the serial port and it may require a reboot.

The PIC is ugly in 2000/XP.

Can you test the PIC with hardware at work?

OG

Last edited:
First question... Is the PIC connected to a 'real' serial port? The PIC will not work with a USB to serial adapter, period.

🍻

-Eric

P.S. Isn't the 'default' baud rate 19200?... :unsure:

If you use XP .the xp tend to run as service.go to the rs-linx control panel and change it.
19.2k is the default of the pic I guesses your PLC is set for that.
As Eric wrote if you do not have real port dont waste your time.

Another thought...

The PIC gets its power from the PLC side, so if it's not connected, or the PLC supply is dead, the PIC will not be seen.

🍻

-Eric