Little Help For A Newbie?

fromcincy

I recently took a position with a retrofitter, that uses PLC exclusivley. Its all new stuff, AB 504, so its all trouble shooting new circuits and programs. I have a very basic knowledge of the ladder, but am very strong in the "Machine side" of the control. My background is CNC, but its all been Mazatrol, siemens, Fanuc, Haas G-Code etc. I lloked over the basic information portion or self tutor, which ever you want to call it, on this sight, but doesn't really go indepth enough. Problem I have is employeer is balking at funding the training, as he has been burnt in the past, and I am not in a position financialy to hit the Jr. College, or buy a tutor program.

Does anybody have knowledge of any resources on the web to learn thees critters .

Thanx

GERRY

Thanx to all, found a wealth of knowledge at the above posted sites. Also stumbled upon an online version of a manual by Hugh Jack. Looks like this is what I need.

GERRY

I'm gonna make a suggestion... If you employer uses all AB stuff, try to pry a unit out of him so you can take it home and play with it. Learning on a REAL PLC will greatly shorten the learning curve. There's nothing like being trained on the equipment your going to be using.

Gerry,

Mike has a good idea, the boss should see that you need a spare 'in-case'.
Might have to run home to get it, but...

Good to see another CNC oriented guy here. We get a few CNC probs from time to time, and I don't have all the answers.

Rod(The OTHER CNC Dude)

I agree with Mike. Get an Allen-Bradley SLC 500 (505, 504, 503, 502, 501 in order of preference for learning) and also borrow a copy of RSLogix from your boss. RSLogix has some great learning tools, sample programs, help screens, and SLC Instruction Help. Example:
XIC (Examine if Closed)
Use with processors:All SLC and MicroLogix processors
Example of Instruction: (Parameters shown are examples only, your data will vary.)
Description