Modicon 984/680 requires additional comms port

David.F

I'm new to Modicon. We're looking at an application where the client has a Modicon 984/685 series CPU and both comms ports are in use.

We need to be able to connect a HMI to the system now. Short of adding an extra communication module (and I'm not sure if we even have the room to do this if it was possible) would any one have any recommendations as to how we might gain an extra serial port?

Some form of multiplexer perhaps? Any advice is always appreciated.

Regards, Dave

Your processor has a Modbus Plus port (as well as the two Modbus ports)so you can use any available Modbus Plus to Modbus convertor. For that matter, if your HMI has an ethernet port you can use a Modbus Plus to ethernet convertor

In the old days Modicon called their product a "bridge mux" (part numbers began with NW-BM85). They were stand alone units and did not need rack space.

Last edited:
One port of each goes to a modem for connection to a SCADA system, the other port goes to the electricians office for programming purposes. There are no spare slots in any of the racks

David,
In reference to your last post, please note in the links that Alaric and I posted, these are stand alone modules. They are not used in the rack.

Copy & Paste from a portion of one of the links:

The ProLinx family Modbus TCP/IP to Modbus Master/Slave communications module (4201-MNET-MCM) creates a powerful connection between devices on a Modbus TCP/IP network and Modbus serial devices. The module, encased in either plastic or aluminum (ProLinx Plus 5000 series), is a stand-alone DIN rail-mounted protocol gateway that provides one ethernet port and up to four serial ports.

Sid