Siemens S7 remote i/o access

Pedro64

Can anyone help me i'm fairly new to siemens, i need to access some i/o from other plcs on a multiproject, the plcs are networked and have profibus, ethernet and mpi? I want to access either the inputs or alarm flags from the other plc's so that i can switch some local indicator lights on. Any pointers in the right direction would be gratefully recieved.

Pedro64 said:
the plcs are networked and have profibus, ethernet and mpi?

Pedro64

Are all these PLC's S7's?

Tell us how they are already networked, do you really have all three stated above?

With this information we can give you a more specific answer. It is not too difficult to 'get' data from another PLC, the method to use will depend on how these PLC's are networked.

Paul

Yes Paul, they are all s7s it does have all of them. It uses the profibus for the hmi's and moby's and the ethernet is so that you can access the plc's from anywhere on the local network. I'll see if i can get more info for tomorrow. I think that most of the plcs send data back to a master. I need to know how to address the i/o on the slaves.

I think that most of the plcs send data back to a master.
Maybe, but probably not.
The Moby's are probably accessing the PLCs via wireless ethernet. That means that each Moby can access any address in any PLC.
It is also possible that one PLC gathers all information, but there is no big advantage to that if you ask me.

I would look into how the original programmer has made the original project.
In the HMI projects there must be some alarm definitions. Trace these to the place in the program where you can "tap" the information you need to turn on your local alarm indicators.
The HMI's are simply polling the data, your remote PLC (where you want to add some indicators) cannot do that.
You may have to add some communication blocks in order to transmit the info back and forth between the PLCs.