RS Logix 500 Standard Software

2john55

Hi,
I am new to PLC programming and I am doing a school project. I have to use Rs Logix 500 Standard software. My problem is with the software ativation. The professor lost the master disk for activation. Can I get a new master disk? If it is so how do I get it? or Do I need to buy the software again?
By the way, the 4 floppies are original from Rockwell Software and the release is 2.10.12

Your answers will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

You can get a new master floppy from Rockwell support.
You dont have to have a support contract, but it must be the original purchaser (the one that the software is licensed to) that orders the replacement master floppy.

If all you want to do is to move the license to another computer, then this can be done with a portable harddisk (*). First move the license from the currently licensed PC to the harddisk, then move the license from the harddisk to the new PC.

*: It is also possible with a flash pen drive. However, this requires that you use the EVMOVECF utility in stead of EVMOVE.

2john55 said:
Hi,
I am new to PLC programming and I am doing a school project. I have to use Rs Logix 500 Standard software. My problem is with the software ativation. The professor lost the master disk for activation. Can I get a new master disk? If it is so how do I get it? or Do I need to buy the software again?
By the way, the 4 floppies are original from Rockwell Software and the release is 2.10.12

Your answers will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Well then, the professor can't very well dock you points, can he? As the previous poster indicated, if he is the registered owner of the software, he can get a master disk from Rockwell tech support at www.ab.com.

IF you are looking for a way to bypass the activation file no one here is going to give you their own activation file that they paid hard earned money for and disable their own copy of the software.