Interfacing Analog and Digital I/O's

Theldon

I am relatively new to the PLC, being fresh out of school. But I do not program them. I interface instrumentation to them. I work in the Oil and Gas industry, so I use a PLC to control valves (usually solenoid) or read sensors like temperature, level and pressure. But being relatively new to my job, I've been hooking these sensors and valves up to Analog and Digital I/O's.

I guess my question is, how do I know that I am interfacing it properly? I've done some paperwork with the AutoPilot RTU, and the PLC 5 by Allen Bradley.

A decent example would be I have a level sensor that emits a current at 4-20mA depending on the level of the liquid in a tank. What do I connect this to, and how should the connections be in order to properly interface this sensor to the PLC so that a user can see the level of the tank, or create some logic so that when the tank is full, an action can be taken.

Thanks.

confused

Hi,

I don't understand your question completly, do you want an elektrical drawing or do you want a PLC-programming example?

Rudi

A decent example would be I have a level sensor that emits a current at 4-20mA depending on the level of the liquid in a tank. What do I connect this to, and how should the connections be in order to properly interface this sensor to the PLC so that a user can see the level of the tank, or create some logic so that when the tank is full, an action can be taken.
The physical aspect will be basically the same with any plc, the input will connect to an ANALOG card. The device may use 2, 3 or 4 wire but the plc will only use 2 of them in most cases, this picture shows so Allen Bradley SLC analog modules.
analogwiring.jpg

The best thing to do is obtain the manual for any devices involved. To program to use the analog is another issue. This is a basic example for PID involving analog input and output.