Grafcet 2 LAD conversion....

TL_

Since a few years I'm a teacher in a 'Technical Institute'. Before I was an automation engineer and I mainly programmed Industrial Robots.

In my new job I teach the basics of PLC programming. One of the skills I (try to) teach the students is how to program sequential programs with PLC using the grafcet method.

In the books I use, I found a big mistake in converting a grafcet to LAD instructions. See picture.
grafcet2LAD1.jpg

What's the mistake???

Well when changing step there will be more then 1 step active at the same time. Because the previous step will be reset the next PLC-cycle.

This event only last 1 PLC-cycle. But it's wrong.

One off the first rules is when the next step becomes active the previous step has to become inactive.

I've demonstrated this error to my college teachers. But, they aren't convinced. They have teached this method for years and never had any problems. (They think.)

I stated that in bigger programs used in real you can’t rely on this kind of programming. So I proposed how it should be done.
grafcet2LAD2.jpg

Here you do not have this error behaviour.

So anyone who agrees or disagrees with my statement, proof my right or wrong.

Well TL_,

I do agree. You can simplify the solution even further by setting and resetting in one rung, like this:

;Step n
AND Step n-1
AND Conditions
SET Step n
RESET Step n-1

That way you'll always be sure that only one step is active at any given time.

[EDIT]It looks as if Ivo was just some minutes ahead of me.[/EDIT]

Another thingy I don't like is the fact that these flipflops are drawn as SET-dominant ones. I aways use RESET-dominant flipflops unless it's necessary to do otherwise.

Kind regards,

K.i.s.s.

Indeed but JVDCANDE in an older post explained the meaning off KISS and this is my opinion to. That’s also the reason why I prefere the LAD-sollution and not the STL(IL) sollution.