Ethernet with FlexLogix Problem

hhuong

Hi All,

I am a newbie to ethernet network connection. I am trying to go online with FlexLogix through ethernet cable, but I got "Unrecognized Device, 1788-ENBT/A" Message (with yellow question mark) in RsLinx.

Here is how my network connection.
Laptop and FlexLogix (1788-ENBT/A) both connected to a hub through typical ethernet cable.
RsLinx Version: 2.42.00
Flexlogix IP: 100.0.80.0
Subnet: 255.255.0.0
Laptop IP: 100.0.78.0
Subnet: 255.255.0.0

I try to ping those two IP and I did receive reply from network. Then through my research, I also try to delete two Harmony files in RSCommon (just in case the files were corrupted). I had try all kind of method but I still get the same message. I believe I am pretty close to achieve my goal, maybe I miss some small detail.

Anyone have this kind of problem before? Please Help... Appreciate it...

My guess is that the EDS file for the FlexLogix is not on you laptop or is a different revision than the FlexLogix you have. You can check your installed EDS files by going to :

Rockwell Software -> RSLinx Tools -> EDS Hardware Installation Tool

and click on 'Remove'. The tool will do an audit of the EDS files you have installed. Check if the FlexLogix is installed and if it is what the revision level is. If the revision doesn't match your physical device revision you need to go to the AB website and downlaod the correct EDS.

As a side note, EDS files are not backward compatible in this case. You need to match the revision level.

Keith

Thanks, Keith.

After some research through your guide, I finally able to see my flexlogix in RsLinx. I learned a lot about EDS File through this experience.

One more question: After I download the EDS file and add it using EDS Hardware Installation Tools, do I still need the files that I save in my hard drive or Can I just delete it?