1746-QS Fault Issue

maexio

Lifetime Supporting Member
I am having an issue in the field with the 1746-QS module connected to two Axis. Currently the issues is a feedback issue on both axis (1 & 2 are flashing green to red, Power & Flt are Green, 3 & 4 are not lit)

Some more background Detail.

This system is connected to a Resaw Linebar with both cylinders to ensure that the linebar (the device being moved) maintains its alignment to the bandsaw. In the past we have done this with a TDC2000 controller, but we decided to try the 1746-QS due to its increased # of axis (i believe) and the hopes that there would be some time savings in programming, and increased simplicity. Although, honestly I have no experience in working with the TDC 2000 (the previous controls designer is at a different company now) but have been told that it is a challenge.

Basically we have two cylinders c/w valves wired on site, and have been able to move them with the Hydraulic configurator previously. We were able to tune them and have them perform as expected with the configurator.

However, as of yesterday the QS card is showing this fault, the program isn't showing any data back from the Temposonics (both of them at the same time). My initial thought was that there could be a power / fuse blown, however the power for both 15V and 24V have been traced, and nothing physically has occured to change the temposonics or the PLC setup to cause this. The power supplies appear to be functioning correctly according to our meters.

I'm kind of at a loss for what would cause a sudden loss of feedback, the card and PLC have both been 'rebooted' with the card being pulled and placed back in the same slot.

Does anyone have an idea where we should check next (or some good resource for troubleshooting this card)?

We have found that this card has limited acceptance and use but obviously it is a little late to change cards at this point.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Riley Smith
Lindsay, ON