CD Rom Course.

controlled

Lifetime Supporting Member
I have been writing small plc programs for a few years, but I am completely self taught. A local college is offering a CD Rom based PLC Technician Course. I was hoping to get some feedback from other members if they thaught this might be worthwhile??

I suspect that CD based means that the text is not a printed text, but is on the CD-ROM. It would be worth finding out what CD-based really means.

I've always found instructors more than willing to talk about what a course entails and covers, and what they expect. Why don't you contact the instructor and ask?

I took a basic PLC course at a community college a couple years ago. It used a printed text. The course was about 3.5 months long, met once a week evenings for 3-4 hours. The lab where the hardware was, was open for use anytime during the day, even if a class was in progress.
The course I took was exactly what I expected, binary-hex number formats, basic ladder, timers, counting, shift registers, stage programming.

I suspect the real question you have to ask yourself is whether you can get enough out of a basic class to warrant the time and money spent on it, especially if you already have some practical background on a specific brand that uses a specific syntax.

Dan

I took a PLC programming class in college. Complete with instructor, books and slc500's to practice on. To be honest, it didn't teach me a whole lot. Even though the instructor was very knowledgeable and we had lots of training tools, there just wasn't enough time to dig in and practice the way you need to, in order to get a good grasp of the subject.