Help!

add8742

I am a recent graduate of Electrical Engineering. I have also finished a PLC (Allen Bradley) Certificate program which familiarized me with PLC5/SLC500/Micrologix and ControlLogix 5000. From my Engineering education I have good background in the area of Power Electronics and Electric Drives.

What do you people suggest I do more to land an opportunity in the automation and drives field. I am willing to start from the technician level.

Any suggestion as to companies that would likely give me the opportunity around GTA or nearby will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

As a past plant engineer and present OFG (OldFatGuy) that has hired associates with your background, I can tell you what I would be looking for.

I wanted to see at least some experience in the real world, regardless of ceritfications. I needed to see your actual proficiency displayed, seperate of your formal education. (This includes working with other real-live people, not just the tech items).

If you cannot display this proficiency, do whatever it takes short term to get experience (internship, volunteer labor, whatever) with the mindset of progressing at each opportunity. Ideally, that will lead to the medium-term goal of a paying position in your field.

The experience of the people that hang out here is amazing. I am interested in seeing what others have to say.

OFG.

1) Network - ask instructors, acquaintances, friends of the family, relatives, etc. for ideas and if there are any openings in their companies or that they know of.

2) As OFG said, get your resume together, and understand that you will have to pay your dues to get experience. That means working for less, doing th dirty jobs, and hustling. Get a job in a related field if you can't find exactly what you want.

I back up the experience requirements.