PID simulation

GEOFRA

Hi everybody!

I have some experience with PLC and I would like to know if there
is a way of experimenting with PID .Is there an easy setup to help me understand PID in real and experiment by changing various parameters so as to see their effect on the process?

I think the biggest deterent to using the plc PID instruction is system modelling. Unless we can hook it up to a true external process the output of the PID instruction won't do us much. We could develop a reasonably simple system model in the plc. But we wouldn't be able to handle anything real complex.

Now, if you could tie the output into something running VisSim or something like that...

Keith

Start Simple

kamenges said:
I think the biggest deterent to using the plc PID instruction is system modelling. Unless we can hook it up to a true external process the output of the PID instruction won't do us much. We could develop a reasonably simple system model in the plc. But we wouldn't be able to handle anything real complex.

Now, if you could tie the output into something running VisSim or something like that...

Keith

How complex do you think those web PID simulations are? We have no idea how they implemented their plant, but what is worse is that we can't change the plant. We can only change the PID gains. We can make our own plant equation and as long as it is kept simple we should be able to implement it in one compute block. Do to this we should review the simple first order filter. To make a simple 'plant' with this simple filter, one only needs to do this:

PV(n) = PV(n-1)*(1-K) + CV(n)*(K)

Where K is a fraction close to 0.0 like 0.001.

My documentation says that the CV on a SLC PID only goes to 16383 so we should probably multiply CV(n) by two if we want the PV to cover the full range of -32768 to 32767.

Here is something to think about....