Need a jump start

cryoman

In my real job I do a little troubleshooting with compact 984-130's. I do understand some of the programming and hardware but just have hit a wall on this personal project. I am not looking for someone to write the program just help me get the time/temperature rung wrote. If I can just get over this beginning part of the program I will work on figuring out the rest. If someone is willing to help me on this please e-mail me and I will explain in more detail what I am trying to do. I’m a beginner and have read the manuals and bought the tutor book but this is not my area of expertise.

[email protected]

Public Postings

Post your work work here, rather than using e-mail.

What do you mean by time/temperature rung?
What have you done so far?
Where do you think your problem is?
What are you using for programming software?
What I/O modules do you have?

Here is what I want to do

I have not started writing the program, not sure how to incorporate the time/temperature ramp, so if I can get a little help with that I can do the digital inputs, digital outputs, and some of the analog inputs, and analog outputs.

What I have is a cryogenic processor that cold treats metal. Currently it just has a watlow 982 ramping controller. This controller is very limited with the ramp and soak so much that it overshoots it's temperature set point and cycles the cooling and heating so much that it waste a lot of liquid nitrogen.
With a plc I can use a variable injection and a more controlled heat. What I don't want to do is turn the heat on while cooling and inject cold nitrogen while heating like it currently does now.

This is how the process should work with a plc.

Selector Switch
A - position: