Vb6 and AB SLC503 interface programming

rcerva

Hi. I'm doing a project that i need to send information to a VB6 program when my machine stop. The operator must put in a job nr to restart the machine. If the nr is the same as the current job the machine must start. If not the same the VB6 program must verify that a new job will be done. The plc used is a AB SLC 503. I am new to VB6. Can anyone help me with this.

Thanks

There are a few different ways I have communicated with SLC's / Micrologix & VB6.

1) Buy an ActiveX Driver (I use Automated Solutions and like it very well). There are many others out there. I think vHMI Automation has an inexpensive one as well.

2) Use an OPC server... Going to be fairly expensive and overpowered for what you are wanting to do.

3) Purchase a data acquisition I/O pci card. Run wires to/from PLC to the PC running the VB app.

4) If the PC and PLC are relatively close, you could connect the two via serial cable and output a string from the PLC (comm 0) and read it on the PC. This would not require any additional purchase.

5) DDE. Haven't done this, but I think there are serveral topics on this forum explaining how to do it.

I am sure there are other ways but that is what I can think of off the top of my head. Proximity of the PLC and VB app (PC) will probably have some bearing on how you do this. Can you elaborate on this?

Kyle

vb6 and ab plc 503 interface

Hi. Thanks for the help. I have set up the DDE in rslinx and can sent data to the plc. I'm working on a demo so distance at this stage is not a factor. The plc is next to my pc. In the factory i've set up a dh485 networkbetween the machines. My problem is more on the VB6 side and not so much on the plc side. I dont know how to get the plc to send a message to the vb6 program that the machine has stopped, and i must get a signal back to the plc if the job is to be changed.