Which PLC?

PeterH_DK

Hi Guys,
I hope you can give me some input on what kind of PLC to use for this project I am getting involved in. First of all I have no experience in ladder programming/PLCs but have ”fiddled” a it with some Swiss custom made process control systems and done a bit of Pascal and BASIC programming.
The basic problem I have to solve is to register just 3 inputs ( switches) and time stamp every time a switch is activated. The data is then to be transferred by modem/internet to a host.
Added to this one output is to be activated for a short period ( a few seconds) every time an input is activated.

So basically I am looking at the following specs:
3 inputs ( switches)
1 output (lamp)
RS 232 ( for modem)
Realtime clock
Battery backup / eeprom
Price is also (as always) a critical factor since it is part of a commercial product.

I have been looking at several PLC’s but found that most of them can do more much than needed or they don’t have the RTC. What comes closest to the specs is Trilogi’s T100MD888+ ( www.tri-logi.com)
Apart from ladder programming simple BASIC functions can be called
They have a simple emulation software which I have tried and it seems to handle the job.
Does anybody have any experience with TRILogi PLCs? Are they reliable?
Can you recommend an even simpler product?

Best regards
Peter H

There are lots of entry level PLCs available, essentially one for each manufacturer. My favorite is Koyo (AutomationDirect.com) DL-05 but you should verify local availability. The Allen Bradley ML-1000 would fit your needs, and the GE VersaMax, and so on. Even the Siemens S7-200 hardware is not to bad, but the software and learning curve are a bit steep.

If you have local distributors you trust, I'd suggest talking to them. Their support can be invaluable on your first project.