how does ab one shot work

georgia boy

hi guys

i know this one seems newbie i am pretty decent on basic ladder logic ( self taught )but i have never had to use one shots and today i encounterd some . how do one shots work in detail and how are they best applied . i know they are to only work for one scan ?

Each one-shot instruction has a storage bit assigned to it. When the processor encounters a one-shot instruction and the rung is true up to the one-shot, the processor checks the storage bit. If it is clear, the processor sets the storage bit and then continues scanning the rung as true. If the bit is set, then the processor scans the rest of the rung as false. Thus it will be true for one scan only. If the rung prior to the one-shot is false, then the processor will clear the storage bit.

AB has several variations of the one shot depending upon which PLC platform you are using.

In the SLC-500 the one shot is an OSR instruction and it is an inline instruction. There are some restrictions on using the OSR in branches on the SLC-500 platform, so check the manuals or online help.

In Micrologix 1100,1200,1500, PLC-5 and Control-Logix processors the one-shot is availalbe as an inline instruction as ONS, or as an output instruction as OSR (one-shot rising) and OSF (one-shot falling - a single scan pulse as rung turns false)

Below is a data table for both of these two rungs which impliment a leading edge one shot with Bit B3/1

I/0 B3/0 B3/1
----] [------[ONS]--------( )-- (substitute OSR in a SLC500)

Or

I/0
----] [------------+-OSR-------------+
|One Shot Rising |
|Storage Bit B3/0|
|Output Bit B3/1|
+-----------------+

|IF these conditions| |Then Processor Sets|
| I/0 | B3/0 | | B3/0 | B3/1 |
| 0 | 0 | | 0 | 0 |
| 1 | 0 | | 1 | 1 |
| 1 | 1 | | 1 | 0 |
| 0 | 1 | | 0 | 0 |

For an OSF the table below applies.

I/0
----] [------------+-OSF-------------+
|One Shot Falling |
|Storage Bit B3/0|
|Output Bit B3/1|
+-----------------+