Rookie Question...HELP!

mkalavitz

Hello,

I am a Mechanical Engineer trying to setup my first very simple Ladder Logic program to test an item that we have here...

Here is what I am trying to do....

1. Turn master power switch on (Input 01) (toggle switch)
2. Upon master switch on I want a 2 second delay and then turn on Output 1 for 2 seconds.
3. Turn output 1 off and turn output 2 on for 2 seconds...
4. Loop back to the beginning...

As you can see this is a very basic operation...I am just tyring to oscillate ouput 1 and 2 on and off for 2 seconds each with a 2 second delay between each..

I can get it to run through the program that I have, but I am having trouble on reseting the timers that I am using...

Any direction would be greatly appreciated...
thx
Mike

Mike,

You need something to start and stop, are you only going to use the one input?, if so you need to create a latch, what brand of plc are you using?...the way you have it wrote, after you turn the switch on it in 2 sec. all will go out puts will go high, is that what you see also ?

yes...

Yes...right now it goes through the program like this..

1. I click the master switch on...

2. There is a 2 second delay.

3. Output 1 comes on for 2 seconds.

4. Output 1 goes off for 2 seconds.

5. Output 2 goes on for 2 seconds.

6. Output 2 goes off.

I am using a little Idec Micro3 PLC...Yes...I seem to agree that there needs to be a latch somewhere some how...Have never done this before....I think I am dangerous :)

thx

Mike

there is currently no way in your program to 'loop back' to the first function. As posted, both the raise & lower timers will begin timing (timers 1 & 3). Once timed out, then both the coils will be logically true. You need to interlock the rungs so that this can't happen. Your problem could be solved in three or four rungs.

Offhand, what type of PLC are you using?

Last edited:
geniusintraining said:
Mike,