Read Ladder prg witout comments

Alfred

Hello Everybody
I am a Tech officer in an educational institute and try to revive a PLC course. We have AB SLC 5/02 and 5/03 PLC's and when uploading from one unit a got a program which I would like to know what it does. What is the professional way to analyze and read such ladder program and where to you start?
Further question would be on the SLC 5/02 processor card is a large empty socket. What is this for?
Have this PLC's an RTC or is this an extra module/insert?

If anybody can help, thanks in advance.

Regards
Alf

there are no comments because you aren't viewing the original program. As far as what the program does, it could be anything from a garage door opener, to a sequental space shuttle launch. Without viewing it, and seeing what the PLC is connected to, there is no way of knowing.

as far as the empty slots in the rack, it is for other cards.

Last edited:
I think Alfred is referring to the IC socket on the processor's board. This can be used for EEPROM (programmable in place on the card) or a UVPROM (which must be programmed off the card). Otherwise the program is held in battery backed memory which isn't the most reliable in sudden outages. The CPU can be set up to read that stored program and data on every power up, when its battery-backed memory experieces a problem (checksum error) or only on programmer command.

Hi Alfred,

You definately need to know what the program is controlling before you can figure what the program does. What's connected to the I/O is your first step.

I think that there is a socket on the SLC 5/02 processors for a memory module.

On SLC 5/03 and higher, registers S:37 through S:42 are Year, Month, Day, Hour, Minute, and Second.

Programming Manual:

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/rm/1747-rm001_-en-p.pdf

I hope this helps.

Sooo many replies in this short time. Fantastic.