SLC500 Address Confusion

glaverty

I am working with a PV550 and an SLC 5/02 on a machine that I have been asked to make some changes to.

The address's in the Panelview are written in the form B3/58, B3/59 etc.

So I make the assumption that B3/58 = B3:3/10 which as it turns out is correct. However if you do a search for B3/58 in RSlogix it looks for B3:4/10. Why do they do this? It's zero based in the panelview but in RSLogix they skip B3:0/0 through B3:0/15 and start at B3:1/0.

This is my first project with RSLogix so to some of you this may be a known thing and for others it might be something new. Just thought I would throw it out there to see if anyone has a reason for it.

Guys follow these instructions to change your View properties

1 Select View > Properties to get the Options window.
Make sure you have a program file window opened and active (click cursor in the ladder window) or you will not see Properties listed in the View menu
2 Click the Address Display tab.
3 Make the selections that determine how your ladder logic will look on the screen display. These are described below.
4 Click OK to accept your selections.

This is the field you need to change your B Bit displays

Binary Bit Display Mode

Select /Bit to display a binary bit address by bit only, for example B3/33. Click Word/Bit to display the same address by word and bit, for example B3:2/1.

glaverty,

i've never heard of this happening before - and i DON'T doubt that you're seeing it now - but could you please go into a little more detail and tell us exactly what you're typing - and exactly where you're typing it - and exactly what you're clicking next - and exactly what happens on the screen? - i'd like to track this down - if i understand your description of the problem, then it's got to be a bug - but if it's a bug, then i'm amazed that no one has reported it before - and the search feature is working just fine on my machine -

thanks

More Confused

Sure thing Ron.