Msoe

Greg Dake

Well, I'm taking the plunge.....Like many others on here I have decided to go back and persue my four year degree. I have chosen an engineering school here in Milwaukee......Curious if there is any alumni from Milwaukee School of Engineering and can provide some feedback?

I spent some time with the head of the electrical engineering department at MSOE and I was pleased with what I saw. There is a lot of focus on PID in the ciriculum. They get a lot pumped into the EE program from Allen-Bradley......I currently work as a non-degreed control engineer...I'm quite lucky, my employer is not requiring me to do this AND they are supporting it both in scheduling flexibility and other ways.....This is a part time endeavor, two classes per quater, but at least it will be progress. I still need to maintain my 47.5 hour work week.

I know others are doing this as well on this site, I have read their trials and tribulations in doing this....I am very excited. Curious to hear feedback from either MSOE alumni or someone who has experience with MSOE of some sort.

TIA,

Greg

Well, MSOE can't compete with MU. (Guess where I graduated!)

Actually, based on my experience over the years with graduates of MSOE, MU,UWM, UW Madison and UW Platteville, MSOE seems to turn out excellent graduates. They don't have quite as much theorteical training as MU, but they have more practical and hands-on training. Both schools are head and shoulders above any of the UW campuses. In my experience UWM is the worst - I told my kids they could pick any college in the US BUT UWM.

Greg,
I am an MSOE Alumnus. I have a BSEE from MSOE. It is an outstanding school and the EE program, as well as all of their programs, is excellent. It is definitely not easy though. MSOE consistently ranks in the top 10 for engineering schools nationwide. If you receive your degree from MSOE, you will allow yourself many opportunities in many other areas as well.