PDA

View Full Version : PV600 to PLC5 Node name issue


booten
February 27th, 2006, 01:14 AM
Does anyone know what the squiggly line in this processor name means and how to address it in the PB32 application?

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/uploads/PLC5.JPG

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/uploads/PB32.JPG

Thanks Bill

Alan Case
February 27th, 2006, 02:20 AM
No idea, just change it to something else as long as no other PVs address the node.
Regards Alan

Alan Case
February 27th, 2006, 02:20 AM
No idea, just change it to something else as long as no other PVs address the node.
Regards Alan

booten
February 27th, 2006, 02:31 AM
There are 3 other PLC 5's and one PV1200 on the network I am just trying to add this PV600 to it.

Alan Case
February 27th, 2006, 02:47 AM
Just tried to add a ~ to the name of a PLC5 processor. Would not accept it.
Have a look in the other panelviews for the node name of the PLC.
Regards Alan

bellies
February 27th, 2006, 05:00 AM
have seen this squiggly line in dos based systems when filename is longer than 8 characters. i.e. mycomputer.doc becomes mycomp~1.doc
hope this helps

jstolaruk
February 27th, 2006, 05:06 AM
Only the node address is important in the PB32 application; the name does not have to match.

booten
February 27th, 2006, 06:48 AM
Allan Case,

I was incorrect about the PV1200, it is on RIO.

bellies,

That is probably what happened.

This PLC application was imported over to RSLogix from AI series. I looked back at the old AI series files (still have them saved) and I see that they also have that line. The PLC5 must be made to accept it some how from the import utility.

jstolaruk,

I will try going without the line and see what happens.

Thanks everyone,
Bill