PLC emulator?

Ole

Hi there. Im a student in university and have started working on a project. I need to use a PLC emulator to drive some apparatus in the lab(Coupled tanks apparatus). Do you know of an emulator I can get free which allows communicating with external devices? If not which is the best I can get for a good price?

Thanks

Hi Ole.

What you are asking for is a soft-PLC and not an emulator or simulator.
Unfortunately I dont know of any free soft-PLC's.

Anyway, is there any compelling reson to that it has to be a soft-PLC ?
If you have just a small application, then a small traditional PLC can do the job better and cheaper. With a soft-PLC you still need to connect to the hardware somehow. In the end it will be more complicated and expensive than a regular PLC.

Do you know of an emulator I can get free which allows communicating with external devices?
A PLC emulator is a piece of software that emulates a PLC. If it has the possibility to control real life I/O, we call it a soft PLC, because then you're no longer only emulating a PLC but the PC becomes a real PLC. I have never heard of a soft PLC available for free. If that was possible, why should anybody ever buy a real PLC?

Why not use a real PLC? I can't figure any self-respecting university to teach about PLCs without having at least one lying around somewhere in one of the labs.

[rant]Damned. Jesper, do you intend to make it a habit to beat me? It's the second time this week you're only minutes faster than me. I really must try to type a little faster:D[/rant]

Kind regards,

Last edited:
Thanks for the reply Jesper

Last year, a student used siemens S7-PLCSIM and step7 to control the apparatus and in his report he was able to drive the apparatus. I havent really tested these. Would these work? like he said in his report.

Ole,