E-Stop question.

plchacker

OK before you get your nickers in a knot, please read my reason for this post ;)

I work in a Community College training the next batch of I/E techs, in our area. Prior to that I worked in the field for some twenty years.

Recently I was asked to take a battery of tests that a local manufacturer gives to select employees. As it happens they are hurting for good people.

While reviewing the hands on protion of this test I ran across an E-Stop circuit.

As best as I could tell from a brief look all was fine except that the PB was a momentary, rather than a detent PB. I asked the guy who designed it and he pointed to the MCR. Fine and well, but odd to me.

Is this acceptable? Again, I did not have much time to look at the details. In all of my experiance, in Europe, and here in the US, I have never seen a momentary switch used for E-Stop. I'm just wondering If I missed something, or if maybe the desinger of the test did.

The plant its self was the most impressive I have ever seen.

Though NFPA79 is not mandatory it is widely followed. Its reference number 10.7.2.2 states "Pushbutton-type devices for emergency stop shall be of the self-latching type and shall have positive (direct) opening operation."

I would use a maintained PB just in case some one else hit the reset button before the person that initiated the e-stop was ready.

Latching and hard wired - end of line. Definately not in the PLC. Would always suggest use of an IEC type 4 safety relay also with 2 contactors and 2 input lines to the relay.

My ignorance is going to show..

Show me the diagram difference between a latching and not latching PB. Please.

Last edited:
I use a symbol like this to denote a latching, turn-to-release E-Stop.

latchingestop.jpg

I don't like push-pull E-stops. I've had operators hand me the head that broke off from too much pulling... :sick:

🍻

-Eric

before you get your nickers in a knot