plc scan time problems...HELP

apachi

hi everyone...i am a university student who is undergoing the subject industrial control...we are required to learn plc....damn its hard!!!i have been scratching my gead for the past 3 months but still cant figure it out what is the problem with my lab"s plc...i am using omon cpm2a plc...its seem that everytime i program it with the cx programmer, it won"t ru nthe way i want it to..some of my frens said that maybe its because of the scan time....can anybody out there tell me what is scan time and what is RACE TIME.....PLZ HELP ME THANKS

Try the link on the top of this page "Online Tutorial" After studing the guide, feel free to repost more questions. More information about what you have done, and what you think the PLC is not doing, would be required for quality help.

Scan time is how fast the processor works. The lower the number, the faster the scan. Most processors scan every 10 milliseconds or faster.

Race time - its not called race time, we just call it a race. It is when two thngs can happen and sometimes this one make it first and sometimes the other makes it first. This will result in unintended results in your program. Most races can be solved by using timers and scan time does play a big part in the problem.

I suspect your problem is the basic layout of your program. Using timers and counters can help you locate the problem.

If you can attach a PDF of your work so far, maybe one of us can give you a few pointers.

"Race Time", usually called "Race", is a condition usually associated with real relays.

In real-time, you might turn on a relay and then expect to use the output from that relay immediately to affect something else, before the intial relay is turned off.