Micrologix 1000 interface

twagner350

I am pretty new to PLCs but I am interested in using a plc to control a system at work. Our current system configuration has manual toggle switches to power the different devices. I would like to use a PLC instead and interface it to a C++ program to control certain devices (on/off). Would a Micrologix 1000 work good for this or do I need something else? Any advice on the interface would be greatly appreciated.

Yes, it is a perfect stable platform to use. (And economical)
Use one of the many RSLINX drivers available in order to use a STD pc running RSLINX,through RS232 and you are off to the races.
You will still need to buy the RSlogix500 software...if you don't already have it.
Actually, if you are brand new into the AB PLC's, there is an entry level package that is available with most of what you will need to get started for under 1G.
Good luck,

I strongly recommend a step up from the ML1000 to the Micro Logix 1200 unless this is a very simple system. The ML1200 cost is only a few dollars more but it has significantly more capabilities.

A little more information about the system and what it does may be helpful in giving you a better recomendation.

I was trying to steer you to the "pkg" that AB offers, due to the fact that the software and cable comes with it for the price.

Truly, if you want more functionality I wouldn't use the "plain-Jane" ML1000 either, but the ML1100, with built in Ethernet and Comm Ports. The 1200 is older again, but has some decent I/O. It is FULLY expandable with all of the ML1200-1500 series cards.

I just bought one for $650.00.

Depending on your situation, (I mean do you have software already) there are other routes.

Good Luck,

Kcarlen,