Pid Control

JAVY

Hello: I need if someone can tell me how do I make a lader program using a PID control,to control the clamp movement of a injection molding machine.I am new in this so please go easy with me. The plc that I use is a cutler hammer D32LT and the software is WINGPC.THANK YOU

JAVY-

You must first determine IF this PLC has PID functions in it.

IF it does, then you must identify the INs and OUTs for this control loop.

The INs would be the ACTUAL POSITION of the clamp (Measured Variable)
Is it an encoder?

The OUTs would be the output signal to whatever it is thats makes this clamp move, it could be an hydraulic proportionnal valve, a servo, a VFD drive... what is it? (Controled variable)

TheN you just have to link those 2 data to your PID function or block.

Then, in your program, you have to send this block a TARGET or Set Point which is the main concern. Thats where you want the clamp to be.

After this, you must give 3 arbitrary values: P, I and D

Say you give P a 50% band, I a 2 seconds repeat rate and D is set at 0... thats ZERO (don't need this and 0 should cancel it off)

After you have done this, COME BACK and ask "How to tune a PID controler"

Also, give A LOT MORE DETAILS.

Remeber, a what wize man said: Nothing can be at two position at one time.

The PLC will control Setpoint handling in the sequence. The PID will sorta work by itself... being slave to your ladder sequence.

Why use close loop?

JAVY, open loop is MUCH easier. Getting the position PID done is just the beginning.

Steve, why not post a link to the PID infomation on your site. This is what I do and it avoids the negative feedback. I have posted many links to example programs on our site.