C-H Panelmate 1700 Configuration

fredbear

Hi people,

Hoping someone can help me. I have been tasked with adding some screens to an existing panelmate running in the middle of nowhere. I have zero experience with these devices, but got the software side of things done ok. Now comes time to go to the fiels and download the new configuration file. Problem is, I only have a laptop with USB ports, no serial. Do I need a USB-to-serial converter of some kind? Will the transfer utility work with the USB at all? What cable do I require? The PLC it's connected to currently is a A-B SLC 5/04 over DH+. Is there some way to use RSLinx to transfer the new configuration to the panelmate via the PLC? (I have the 1747-UIC).

TIA

I have never done this but in the PanelMate Transfer program there is a tab called Port Parameters. On that tab is a drop down list called Port Device. One of the selections can pick is A-B RSLinx. So it MAY work.... 🤞🏻

Just to be safe, I would bring along a USB/Serial Converter (why don't you have one ... or 4 or 5 already if you are doing controls?) and a serial cable. The cable from Eaton is expensive for what it is so I would just make one myself.

The pinouts are in this document:
http://www.eatonelectrical.com/unsecure/cms1/100320.PDF
on PDF page 108.

Thanks. What's the difference between the Eaton cable and a null-modem cable? Also, it looks similar to the pinout of the 1747-CP3 from A-B. So all I need is a USB-serial converter? Just starting out at a new company, just got them to get a new laptop, first time trying to connect to anything other than a PLC (I had to buy everything so far and it's on a 'as needed' purchase plan).