Communications with Computer

skarrde

Currently we have a testing machine that takes a signal from load cells and runs it into a card on a pc which is then used to calculate force in a dos program. We are looking to upgrade the programming seeing as there are no new mobo's for dos based programming. We are thinking of using a plc for this and other functions of the testing machine but I am not sure how to go about taking the analog input and communicating it to the pc. Would one use a mov command?

Freely admit I am new to this and have gone thru the entire site with the online training and went to thelearningpit.com and picked up their software to learn how to program some.

Also I am not sure which type of plc to go with. Currently we have an micrologix 1100 sitting in our blow molder with a copy of rslogix 500 in house.

You can take the anolog signal and scale it in the processor. For example if your load cell outputs a 4-20 ma, you would scale 3277 to 16383 and scale that to 0 - 500 (lbs?) with the result placed in N9:0.

Getting it from the 1100 to the pc will be more difficult. You could do it with RSLinx Pro (not lite) and for instance send the results to an excel file.

Another way to go if you are using a VB program would be to use a third party software and either take it thru the ethernet port or over the serial port.

Give use a little more info on what you want the PC to do and we should be sble to help you futher.

Skarrde,
You have a lot of options to consider.
I would get a MicroLogix PLC that has at least 1 analog input and whatever else you need as far as discrete I/O points.