setting up a test bench

tmstrick

Hey,

I am an electronics tech (not a programmer) for A/B and making some test benches so I can trouble-shoot the boards. I am testing a 1746-NI8 board. The rack is set up as ( 1747-l543 1746-NO4V ((that I will swap out with a NO4I for a current test)) 1746-NI8 then a 1746-ITB16. The ITB16 has 4 switches that I use to apply different counts to the NO4V. I have the NO4V CH0 tied to the NI8 CH0 and CH1, then CH1 on NO4v tied to ch2 and ch3 of the ni8, and so on in that order. I don’t know how to get the NI8 to see what I am putting to it. I need to see the counts on the screen to know what ch on the board is failing.

I will be doing the NI16I and the NI16V after the NI8...

hey,

ok I think that I was asking to much information. I have a 1746-NI8 that the switches are set to current. After I apply current i still see( 0 ) for the counts. Is there something that I need to place in Ladder logic to start a scan?

I have been banging my head I know I am just looking over something small;)

I assume that you're monitoring the data with RSLogix500 ... is the processor in the RUN mode? ... note: the inputs won't register unless the processor is in run mode ...

The NI8 is software configurable according to the specs from AB. You have to selelct how you want it to react in the ladder program by setting the correct bits onboard the module. I would suggest that you go to AB manuals online and download the appropriate info for your work. It is all available to whomever needs it. Well, Ron beat me to the punch here, he is certainly right about the run mode. I would post the .pdf I have from AB but I can never get that to work for me here on the forum. Seems my attachments are always to big, wrong file type or some darn thing so I just do not use that feature. Silly I know!

The pdf's on ABs site are:
SLC 500 Analog Input Modules User Manual 1746-NI8User Manual1746-6.8