ROV motor control system

technotony007

Hi,

I am an ROV technician with a mechanical background. I am trying to learn PLC’s to enhance my electrical and electronic knowledge for the benefit of my career and hobby. The project, which I am starting, is to build a ROV in a basic form. The list of equipment that I am working with is a laptop, which has a 5-axis joystick attached to it. via its usb port. A serial 9 pin lead to gofrom my laptop to my plc. The plan is run two plc’s. One at the surface and one in the Rov. The Rov basically has 6 - 12 volt dc electric drill motors .the direction of these as I understand up to now is controlled by polarity. The following information I would be most grateful if anyone could help me with is:

1. What type of plc’s do I requireor suggest using . (8,12, 16 channel, make, etc?)
  2. What type of software platform would I use to program / control the plc, via the joystick in a window environment.
  3. Could I run a camera signal through a plc?
The intention is to have umbilical length of about 100 meters max. I would like to use my computer laptop screen as the monitor, the output from the camera. I would configure the computer to run two programs as I fly the ROV, the first would be the camera software as my eyes , and in the background I would run the Plc software which I would use to control the electric motors . Any help would be gratefully received as I am new to this area of PLCS, and I am very keen to learn.

Regards

Tony

1. A PLC generally will not be able to do anything with the camera signal other than switch it via a relay contact. It may be able to control power to the camer via an output.

2. Are you planning on collision detection inputs or possibly feedback from the motors regarding speed and turn position? Or are you expecting full control to be from the operator at remote PC?