read/write problem

mike59

Hi Guys, this is my first posting hope someone can help. Our programmer has left and I have little knowledge of programming however slowly but surely. My problem is; I read a program to my laptop and cleared the plc memory and then proceeded to write back to the controller. I was prevented doing this by a dialogue box informing me that a faulty command existed check main prog. I did this and the check revealed double coil errors. This was however from a program that had previously been running well for over 12 months before somehow freezing up. I thought by uploading and downloading the gliche would have gone, now I can't even download! The plc is a FX1N I'm attempting to use developer version 5 software.

Any thoughts please

Mike

I don't know about your PLC, but just a stab in the dark would be that at some point someone made changes while online to the PLC. Perhaps these changes were not compiled or finalized in the PLC, but when you uploaded they got finalized. Remember, this is just a complete stab in the dark. If the PLC was fine at the very moment you uploaded, it would be very odd. Perhaps your software is corrupt also, just another stab in the dark. The main thing is that hopefully you corrected the errors, downloaded again, and learned a little bit in the process.

Russ

I also know nothing about your specific plc.... But I have had working programs in other systems refuse to be re-downloaded.

In my case, I was using an updated version of the software to program with. The previous version didn't recognize the errors, but the latest version did.

Thanks guys,