Alphabetical Sort in RSLogix 5000

Ken Roach

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
I have been presented with a programming challenge and hope that some of the Forum members may have some insight or experience to share.

A customer will have a long array of text strings in his ControlLogix controller. These will be part of a UDT which includes a number that points to an offset in another array of data. Essentially it's a long list of named numbers, which are themselves not in any sequence (just the order in which they were entered.)

My challenge is that I need to display them in RSView ME.. in alphabetical order. And then I need the customer to be able to type in a name and find it in the list.

Probably this is a trivial matter in PC programming, but I'm not a PC programmer and this is a Logix controller.

Does anyone on the Forum have some insight into the science and art of alphabetical sorting ? I'm off to begin with Google, of course, but figured I'd look here too.

My first inclination is to say... "Bubble Sort", but then, how do you determine the ASCII code of the letters?

If you can, then you need to run several iterations (actually, many, 26 for characters, then ?-iterations for... space, dash, ampersand,...???) through the character count in each string.

I believe you can straight compare the ASCII Characters, and they are weighted alphabetically. Use a couple of Indexes, step through the individual parts of the strings to be compared, run those through a do while loop.

I'll fool with this when I've got emulate in front of me.

1. As CroCop mentioned, one glance at an ASCII table shows that '0' < '9' < 'A' < 'Z' < 'a' < 'z'. The individual characters will compare nicely.

2. Unfortunately since the packing of the characters starts with the lowest byte of a 32 bit word you can't group them and do DINT compares.