Finally got it, but instructor wont like it!

I am 39 years old and my work has sent me to College on an Electrical Apprentice Program. I am in my 3rd semester and just now in "Introduction to PLC's"

I have a program at home called Trilogi that has an on screen simulator and it works well. With this program I completed my homework of "writing a working North/South, East/West Stoplight program that works by a simple ON switch...(No Road sensors or anything) Just timers...Well it works and work as per the instructions, other than my instructor has said "Any circuit that you design in this class that has a timer, will always need a reset (RST on the SLC-150 at school) coil for the timer". My Timer resets are simply a Relay coil at the end of the circuit that energizes NC contacts on relay coil rungs that activates the timers. Then when the circuit starts over, it kills the relay coil at the end... Works good, and I got it in 17 lines of logic.

Anyway, the circuit works correctly and it keeps on repeating, but I do not have a reset (RST) for any of the timers mainly because I have not figured out how to make a reset with this program...Anyway, I will show it to him. If he wont accept it without resets, then I can always write them even if I can't program them on my home computer.

BTW, I gave myself a big pat on the back, and I will not attempt to post it on this site simply because I see what everyone means by being able to learn it on your own.

Thanks for all the good reading guys!

Last edited:
A timer does not have to use a RESET instruction to be reset, if your logic is resetting the timer then do not worry about it.

It is difficult to read and instructors mind on what and how they want something...ask if unsure.